Sunday Classic of Love

A weekly appreciation of classic film and television soundtracks.

Magic always happens when Danny Elfman teams up with director-producer Tim Burton and the soundtrack to Beetlejuice is no exception. The music complements Tim Burton’s aesthetic to a T and the film has one of the best opening and ending titles ever and fantastic musical interludes in between.

Beetlejuice also features classic tunes by Harry Belafonte and to pick just one song would be impossible. Instead, here’s three.

Firstly, the opening titles with music by Danny Elfman (above). They tie in perfectly with Belafonte’s ‘Banana Boat Song (Day-O) later on in the film and set the tone of the film from the onset.

Secondly, here’s Harry Belafonte with ‘Banana Boat Song (Day-O)‘. Fun fact: I went to see Harry Belafonte once with my mom. I was sorely disappointed when this song was only featured in one of the two medleys he performed that night.

Thirdly, Harry Belafonte again with ‘Jump In The Line‘. Guess which song was in the other medley Belafonte performed the night I went to see him with my mom? We were robbed, I tell ya. Despite of my strong aversion to Winona Ryder, this ending is one of my favourites of all time.

In related news, Michael Keaton is apparently “hugely” interested in a Beetlejuice sequel. You and me both, Michael, you and me both. Here’s hoping Tim Burton will stay on board and who knows, maybe Danny Elfman will be available too.

The fact that Beetlejuice was Batman never ceases to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

